

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release
The American Legion, Department of Nebraska
awashburn@nebraskalegion.net

Contact: Amanda Washburn - 402-464-6338

Nebraska American Legion Selects Maynard Jensen Memorial Scholarships

(Lincoln) April 19, 2024 – The Nebraska American Legion selected 10 recipients of the Maynard Jensen Scholarship. The Maynard Jensen scholarship began in 1989 as "The American Legion Scholarship" and it was renamed in 1992 in memory of Past Department Commander Maynard Jensen of Aurora.

Jensen was a World War II Navy Veteran who served in the invasion of Normandy and then in Southern France. He served as the Nebraska American Legion Department Commander from 1971-72. Jensen also served on numerous Department Committees within The American Legion.

For the 36th consecutive year, the Nebraska American Legion has done its part in helping Nebraska students with scholarship money. The recipients of \$500.00 scholarships are Erica Heiman of Osmond; Catarina Ketteler of Atkinson; Logan Salak of Columbus; Kyra Bargmann of Bancroft; Claire Himmelberg of Lawrence; Owen Schultz of Doniphan; Dominic True of Osmond; Cory Gubbels of Stuart; Nolan Van Slyke of Wahoo; and Eva McCreery of North Platte.

The American Legion is dedicated to the motto of "Veterans Strengthening America." Chartered by Congress in 1919, The American Legion is committed to mentoring youth and sponsoring wholesome community programs, advocating patriotism and honor, promoting a strong national security, and continued devotion to servicemembers and veterans. Legionnaires in more than 12,500 posts across the nation and regions overseas serve their communities with a devotion to mutual helpfulness.